Le soulier

First, Welcome.

Behind the dishes is an idea, a bet. To set the bar very high for two professions in one and the same place: cookery and cocktail club. We could have chosen … but since one goes so well with the other...

At lunchtime, we offer a short menu inspired by our arrivals. Dinner will be governed by the codes of the aperitif-dinner. Whether it's lunchtime catering, evening hors d'oeuvres or cocktails, we are extremely meticulous in terms of local and responsible sourcing, finesse of execution and mouth feel. Our definition of "Hors d'oeuvre": it should reflect the spirit of a gastronomic dish in one bite. So, yes, it is s ambitious, but you can tell us what you think of that when you come to see us. For now, here's a little more information about us and the place, as an appetizer.

About Us

C'est qui, nous ?

Maybe we already know each other because, technically, Le Soulier is the little brother of the restaurant Aux pieds sous la table (in the Arnaud Bernard neighborhood). Like him, we are part of the Deux-Mains group; our parent company. A mission-driven company, whose ambition is to prove that another kind of catering is possible: more sustainable, more respectful, more inclusive, fair. This is no easy task in the hospitality industry. And since we prefer to prove than to talk, here are some of the ways of doing things at Le Soulier.

WORKING WITH SHORT SUPPLY CHAINS. NURTURING A VIRTUOUS CIRCLE.

We are from here. From Toulouse. Why should what we serve you come from elsewhere? To source locally we must get up at first light, which is great since we are early early birds! Thanks to the time and effort we put in, and the countless meetings held, we ended up building relationships with many local producers who share our values and whose products we are proud to work with. Meat, fruit, vegetables... as soon as we can find something close to home and with as few intermediaries as possible: we’d go for it!

USE FRESH FOODS. THE 4 SEASONS, WE KNOW THE DRILL.

Using seasonal products is part of our way of cooking, even if we admit that in winter it is a bit more complicated than in spring when greengrocers give us their vitamin festival. It's also a way of varying the pleasures and putting on the menu certain things that we wouldn't necessarily have thought of. It requires a little more creativity. But we love it.

HEATING THE POT
WITHOUT HEATING UP THE PLANET.

We do everything to ensure that the environmental impact of what we offer you is constantly decreasing. Reducing our waste by converting our suppliers to the use of returnable crates; equipping ourselves with machines that consume less energy and water; reusing grey water; making annual assessments of CO2 emissions, the weight of waste, water and electricity consumption... There is no miracle solution, but many actions can be put together to achieve significant results. The list is longer, this is just the beginning.

THE TEAM.
WE WIN TOGETHER.

Team spirit cannot be decreed. It is built day after day. Clearly identifying managers, giving responsibility at all levels via the principle of subsidiarity by providing the means to achieve objectives, enables everyone to find and assume their place within the group. In short, the state of mind is a sum of elements that are sometimes very different from one another and often merged into a mantra. If we had to summarize ours, in sports terms we win together. Like the African saying goes, if you want to go fast, go alone – if you want to go far, go together.

QUALITY WORK LIFE. SELF FULFILMENT FOR ALL.

One of our greatest prides is the loyalty and trust shown to us by our employees. In fact, we are very attached to the quality of life at work. We use a reflexologist to prevent problems related to professional gestures; we are closed on weekends; we develop tasks to increase skills, we have introduced a bonus scheme for those who require to work split shifts… These are some examples of how our employees are now fulfilling themselves at work.

TRUST
IS OUR CODE FROM START TO FINISH.

This is one thing we could have talked about first. Whether it's with our employees, our suppliers, our customers, in fact with everyone, we put trust at the heart of every relationship. We approach trust as an evolving positive energy we choose to cultivate from the outset with those we meet. It is also said that people who trust live more surrounded, longer and happier lives. So take that as a selfish calculation if you like, but we decided to trust.

Détail Le Soulier

The place

Place Montoulieu

'3 place Montoulieu', in the heart of the Saint Etienne district, is not an insignificant local in Toulouse. It has a long history of gastronomy, and in the 18th century there was already an inn: "l'hôtellerie de la ville de Rodez".
More recently, nestled amidst the nearby prefecture, rectorate and Palais Niel, it was the renowned Le Vélane restaurant that occupied the premises for twenty years.
Finally, we are proud to take up the torch of Lune Bleue, which has made ‘3 place Montoulieu’ a space for exchange and debate around the question of food.
Le Soulier, turned towards a future-oriented restaurant, draws its meaning from history and will be happy to welcome you to be part of this ongoing tradition.

 

For lunch or dinner,
I'm coming!

Information

Our opening hours

Have a meal

Monday-Friday : 12H - 14H
Monday-Friday: 7pm - 10pm

Have a drink

Monday-Friday : 14H - 01H

Le soulier

Alors d’abord, bienvenue.

Derrière les assiettes se cache une idée, un pari. Mettre la barre très haut sur deux métiers dans une seul et même lieu : restauration et cocktail-club. On aurait pu faire l’un ou l’autre mais comme on trouve que l’un va bien avec l’autre…

Le midi, on vous propose une carte courte inspirée par nos arrivages et le soir sera régi par les codes de l’apéritif dinatoire. Qu’il s’agisse de la restauration du midi, des hors-d’œuvre le soir ou des cocktails, nous sommes hyper exigeants en matière de sourcing local et responsable, de finesse d’exécution et d’expérience en bouche. Le hors-d’œuvre tel que nous l’entendons doit refléter l’esprit d’un plat gastronomique en une bouchée. Oui, c’est ambitieux mais vous nous direz ce que vous en pensez quand vous passerez nous voir. Pour l’heure, voici en guise d’amuse-bouche un peu plus d’informations sur nous et sur le lieu.

À propos

C'est qui, nous ?

Peut-être qu’on se connait déjà car, techniquement, le Soulier est le petit frère du restaurant Aux pieds sous la table (quartier Arnaud Bernard). Comme lui, nous faisons partie du groupe Deux-Mains ; notre maison-mère, en somme. Une société à mission dont l’ambition est de prouver qu’une autre restauration est possible : plus durable, plus respectueuse, plus inclusive, plus juste. Ce qui n’est pas une mince affaire dans un secteur qui, comme celui de la restauration, peut parfois partir de loin. Et comme on préfère prouver que parler, voici quelques-unes des manières de faire au Soulier.

Travailler en circuit-court. Alimenter un cercle-vertueux.

Nous sommes d’ici. De Toulouse. Pourquoi ce qu’on vous sert devrait venir d’ailleurs ? Pour se sourcer localement il faut se lever tôt. Ça tombe bien on n’est pas des gros dormeurs. Avec le temps et les rencontres, nous avons finit par tisser des relations avec de nombreux producteurs locaux qui partagent nos valeurs et dont nous sommes fiers de travailler les produits. Viandes, fruits, légumes… dès qu’on peut trouver près de chez nous et avec le moins d’intermédiaires : on le fait !

Utiliser des produits frais. Les 4 saisons, on connait la musique.

Utiliser les produits de saison fait partie de notre manière de cuisiner même si on vous avoue que, l’hiver, c’est un peu plus compliqué qu’au printemps où les primeurs nous font leur festival de vitamines. C’est aussi une manière de varier les plaisirs et de mettre à la carte certaines choses auxquelles on n’aurait pas forcément pensé. Ça demande un peu plus de créativité. Mais ça, on adore.

Faire chauffer la marmite
sans faire chauffer la planète.

Nous faisons tout pour que l’impact environnemental de ce que nous vous proposons soit en baisse constante. Réduire nos déchets en convertissant nos fournisseurs à l’utilisation de cagettes consignées ; se doter de machines moins énergivores et plus économes en eau ; réutiliser les eaux grises ; faire des bilans annuels sur le rejet de CO2, le poids des déchets, la consommation d’eau ou d’électricité… Il n’y a pas de solution miracle mais de nombreuses actions à mettre bout-à-bout pour arriver à un résultat significatif. La liste est longue et ce n’est qu’un début.

L'équipe.
On gagne ensemble.

L’esprit d’équipe ne se décrète pas. Il se construit jour après jour. Le fait d’identifier clairement des managers, de responsabiliser à tous les niveaux via le principe de subsidiairité en veillant à donner les moyens d’atteindre les objectifs, permet à chacun de trouver et d’assumer une place au sein du groupe. Bref, l’état d’esprit est une somme d’éléments parfois très différents les uns des autres souvent fondus dans un mantra. Si nous devions résumer le nôtre, qui nous vient du sport : on gagne ensemble. Pardon, on a oublié la citation complète.

La qualité de vie au travail. L'épanouissement pour tous.

L’une de nos plus grandes fiertés vient de l’attachement et la confiance que nous témoignent nos collaborateurs. De fait, nous sommes très attachés à la qualité de vie au travail. Nous faisons intervenir une réflexologue pour prévenir des problèmes liés aux gestes métier, nous sommes fermés le week-end, nous faisons évoluer les tâches pour faire monter en compétence, nous avons mis en place une prime “coupure” pour ceux dont nous n’arrivons pas à organiser la journée en un seul bloc…  Quelques exemples qui font qu’aujourd’hui nos collaborateurs s’épanouissent aussi au travail.

La confiance :
point de départ, point d'arrivée.

Voilà bien une notion dont on aurait pu parler en premier. Que ce soit avec nos collaborateurs, nos fournisseurs, nos clients, en fait avec tout le monde, nous mettons la confiance au coeur de chaque relation. N’ayant rien à voir avec la naïveté, nous abordons la confiance comme une énergie évolutive mais tellement positive que nous choisissons de l’impulser d’emblée de jeu avec ceux que nous rencontrons. Il parait aussi que les gens qui font confiance vivent plus entourés, plus longtemps et plus heureux. Alors prenez ça pour un calcul égoïste si vous voulez mais, nous, on a décidé de faire confiance.

Détail Le Soulier

Le Lieu

Place Montoulieu

Le 3 place Montoulieu au cœur du quartier Saint Etienne n’est pas un lieu anodin à Toulouse. Il est chargé d’une longue histoire gastronomique, au 18ème siècle déjà s’y trouvait une Auberge : “l’hôtellerie de la ville de Rodez”.
Dans l’histoire plus récente, nichée entre les proches préfecture, rectorat, et Palais Niel, c’est la très renommée enseigne du Vélane qui occupa les lieux pendant vingt ans.
Enfin nous sommes fiers de reprendre le flambeau de Lune Bleue, qui a fait du 3 place Montoulieu un espace d’échange et de débat autour de la question alimentaire.
Le Soulier, tourné vers une restauration d’avenir, puise son sens dans l’histoire et sera heureux de vous accueillir pour la poursuivre.

 

Le midi ou le soir,
je viens !

Informations

Nos horaires

Se restaurer

Lun-Ven : 12H – 14H
Lun-Ven : 19H – 22H

Se désaltérer

Lun-Ven : 14H – 01H